Map Unavailable

Date(s) - 28/05/2024
12:00 am

Categories No Categories

The Charter Trustees (Bath Ward Councillors) are holding their Annual Meeting and Election of Ceremonial Mayor in Bath Abbey on Saturday 1 June at 11.00 am.

Councillor Michelle O’Doherty will take up Office as the 797 Mayor of Bath. Mr Christopher Godfrey, will be her Consort.

Councillor O’Doherty was first elected to Bath & North East Somerset Council in 2017 representing Newbridge Ward in the City of Bath as a Liberal Democrat, and was re-elected in 2019 and 2023.   She previously served as Deputy Mayor of the City in 2022/23.

Councillor Ruth Malloy will be Deputy Mayor, and her younger daughter Lydia Malloy will be Deputy Mayoress.  She was first elected to Bath & North East Somerset Council in 2019 to represent Weston Ward as a Liberal Democrat, and re-elected in 2023.

Citizens and visitors are welcome to attend the Ceremony, and are asked to be seated in the Abbey by 10.40 am.

The Civic Procession to the Abbey will be led by the 93 (City of Bath) Squadron RAF Marching Band.  The City Sword-Bearer, Mace-Bearers,  The Right Worshipful The Mayor of Bath (Councillor Dine Romero), dignitaries, visiting Mayors, Charter Trustees and Honorary Aldermen in ceremonial robes, will leave the Guildhall at approximately 10.45 am.   Avon Fire & Rescue Service Ceremonial Drill Squad will form a Guard of Honour.  The Procession will return to the Guildhall at approximately 12.15 pm.

During a short interval, whilst civic robes and Collars and Badges of Office are exchanged, Grenville Jones will lead singing performances by the City of Bath Male Choir and the Welcome Chorus.

Traffic will be stopped for a short time by security stewards at the pedestrian crossing near the Abbey to allow the Procession to make its way down the High Street, Cheap Street into Farr’s Passage and the Abbey Church Yard, and again on its return.